Refreshing the Query

Today I am “blind speed dating” with my query and first 250 words. *hits refresh on phone*

That’s right. I’ve put my baby out there for the world to see…and comment on. I’m waiting for one of 3 anonymous “bouncers” to put me through to the next round so agents can view my entry. *hits refresh again*

If you’ve never visited the blog: Cupid’s Literary Connections, (and the contests there), I really recommend it. http://cupidslitconnection.blogspot.com/2013/01/lets-get-it-started-bouncer-round-1-is.html

In just the first day I’ve met some really great writers (with some great queries) and gotten truly helpful feedback. (The kind where four people suggests the same thing, so you KNOW that’s the edit you need to make) *refreshes screen*

So, regardless of what happens with this round, I’ve made great connections with fellow writers, and my query and opening pages are stronger than they were yesterday.

And that, in itself, is truly refreshing.

5 thoughts on “Refreshing the Query

  1. Bouncer Zapfino says:

    I’m so glad you did decide to put your “baby” out there for the world to see. It takes a lot of guts to do so, but as you said in your post, it isn’t just about win or lose, it’s about the connections you make along the way. I’m still friends with the writers I met in my query contest (and many of them have agents now, even if they didn’t get agents out of the contest). Anyway, I’m hoping we can stay in touch, too, after the big bouncer reveal. You’ve got a lot of talent, and clearly a healthy amount of perseverance, or you wouldn’t have made this far. Good luck in the agent round!

    ~Bouncer Z

    P.S. Clever post. πŸ˜‰

    • jennymoyer says:

      Oh, Zapfino, this is the second time in two days I’ve squealed while reading a blog post! Thank you for visiting and leaving your thoughts on mine. I would LOVE to stay connected, and I am so eager for the reveal so I can learn about YOUR publishing story. As to the kind words you wrote here, I’ve printed them and taped them to my writing board with all the things that inspire me and keep me “persevering”. : )
      Looking forward to “meeting you” when all can be made known…

Leave a Reply

